公司起源

我们是谁 ¶ 

iFixit由卢克(Luke)和凯尔(Kyle)于2003年在位于San Luis Obispo 圣路易斯奥比斯波的加州州立理工大学宿舍里创立的。从那时起,我们不断地成长壮大。

公司创建 ¶ 

Block Image

凯尔(Kyle)在拆卸苹果iBook G4

我们从修理老式的iBook开始。当时市面上并没有如何修理的说明,所以我们和大家开始的方式都一样:万事开头难。

我们修修补补,到处拨弄。我们损坏了一些面板,丢失了几个螺丝。但是我们成功地修复了这台电脑。

我们尝试着修理一些其它的笔记本电脑但是寻找配件相当困难。所以我们在eBay上购买了一台坏电脑,然后从上面获取配件。然后我们决定开始销售我们自己的配件。这样,iFixit就诞生了。

但是这并不是故事的全部。和我们一样,我们所有的顾客们仍然不得不以困难的方式来展开修理。 易于使用的维修说明还不存在 -- 至少说在那时候。

编写维修手册 ¶ 

Block Image

更换iPhone显示屏

困扰我们的是大多数顾客的设备缺乏维修说明。我们认为人们学习修理应该是 “简单”的。

所以我们一有机会就编写了一些说明。并把说明免费地放到了网上。史上第一次,没有技术背景或经验的人也可以拆卸一台苹果电脑Mac。我们的分步骤说明使得本不能自行修理的人们能够维修苹果电脑Mac。

我们原来认为这些说明只对我们顾客是有用的——当然肯定是有用的。但是后来结果发现,这些说明同样对很多其他人也很有用!我们已经从取证侦探、现场翻译,甚至是小孩那里听说了成功修理的故事 。从纽约到阿拉斯加,从西藏到法罗群岛,人们都使用我们的指南来维修物品。这些指南为人们节省开支,避免苹果电脑Mac被填埋,而且人们完全是自行修理的。

令人惊奇的是什么呢?人们都很享受修理。 拆卸物品,是非常有乐趣。窥探你每天随身携带的,神奇的iPod内部,是相当有趣的 。用自己的双手修好它更是令人满足。不相信我们吗?尝试一下吧!修复你自己的苹果电脑Mac。为你的好友演示如何修复物品。

当前任务 ¶ 

我们每天帮助成千上万的人修理他们的设备。我们为什么要这样做呢?因为像苹果公司这样的公司,不提供维修配件和文件给终端用户。我们相信,每个人都应该拥有保修和维修其产品的权利。

远景规划 ¶ 

事实证明,大多数公司都和苹果很像。他们生产出伟大的产品,但他们从来不会告诉我们其余的人如何维修。但是,你能够帮助!

我们希望向世界展示如何修复任何物品。没有人知道如何修理所有物品。不过没关系,因为大多数人都知道如何修理某件物品。也许这只是一个订书机,或一辆自行车,或一部手机。你知道如何修理一件什么物品吗?

教导我们 ¶ 

向我们展示你知道什么。与我们的社区合作 。总之,我们可以修复这个世界! (好吧,也许只是世界上的设备,但是你懂的。 )

例如,这分步指南,告诉你如何更换iPod电池

我们正在努力创造更多的各类设备维修信息。我们的理念是,如果你不能打开它、拆卸它,你便不能拥有它。一旦自行拆卸、维修,并恢复你笔记本或iPod 原状,你便对于它们的内部有一个更好的理解。令人震惊的是,仅需20分钟的工作和10美金的花费,就能够使一个旧iPod焕然一新 ——但大多数人不知道,有简单好用的维修说明可用以使工作更轻松。而且为什么更轻松了呢?苹果公司说,用户不能自行维修电池。这就是我们存在的意义,填补一个生态系统漏洞,这个漏洞是由苹果公司通过制造设备、无报废维护和处理策略造成的。

特别感谢这些译者︰

100%

Yuting Zhao正在帮助我们修复这个世界! 想要作出贡献?
开始翻译 ›

浏览统计数据:

过去的24小时: 1

过去的7天: 77

过去的30天: 367

总计 175,440

Where we are coming from

Who we are ¶ 

iFixit was started in 2003 by Luke and Kyle in a dorm room at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. Since then, we've grown a bit.

How we started ¶ 

Block Image

Kyle taking apart an iBook G4

We started out fixing an old iBook together. There were no instructions on how to do it, so we started the way everyone does: the hard way.

We tinkered. We fiddled. We broke some tabs and lost a few screws. But we fixed it!

We attempted to fix some other laptops but had trouble finding parts. So we bought a broken computer on eBay and stole parts from it. Then we decided to start selling the parts ourselves, and iFixit was born.

But that's not the whole story. All of our customers still had to do things the hard way, just like we did. Easy-to-use repair instructions didn't exist -- yet.

Writing repair manuals ¶ 

Block Image

Replacing an iPhone display

It bugged us that most consumer devices lacked repair instructions. We think it should be easy for people to learn how to fix things.

So we wrote some instructions the first chance we got. And we posted them online, for free. For the first time, it was easy for someone with no technical background or experience to take apart a Mac. Our step-by-step instructions were enabling people to repair Macs they wouldn't have been able to repair on their own.

We thought the instructions would be useful to our customers -- and they were. But it turned out that they were useful to a lot of other people as well! We've heard repair success stories from forensic detectives, field translators, and even kids. From New York to Alaska, Tibet to the Faroe Islands, people have used our guides to fix their stuff. They saved money, they kept their Macs out of landfills, and they did it completely by themselves.

And the amazing thing? They enjoyed doing it. It's fun to take stuff apart. It's interesting to see what's inside that magic iPod you carry around every day. It's gratifying to fix it with your own hands. Don't believe us? Try it! Fix your Mac yourself. Show a friend how to fix something.

We're all in this thing together, and if we work together we can fix the planet. Join us.

What we do now ¶ 

We help thousands of people repair their devices every day. Why do we do it? Because companies like Apple don't provide repair parts and documentation to end users. We believe everyone should have the right to maintain and repair their products.

What's next ¶ 

Well, it turns out that most companies are just like Apple. They make great products, but they never quite get around to telling the rest of us how to fix them. But you can help!

We want to show the world how to fix anything. Nobody knows how to fix everything. But that's OK, because most people know how to fix something. Maybe it's just a stapler. Or a bicycle. Or a cell phone. What do you know how to fix?

Teach us ¶ 

Show us what you know. Collaborate with our community. Together, we can fix the world! (OK, maybe just the world's gadgets. You know what we mean.)

For example, this step-by-step guide shows you how to replace the battery in an iPod.

We're working on creating much more repair information for devices of all kinds. Our philosophy is that if you can't open it, you don't own it. Once you disassemble, repair, and put back together your laptop or iPod, you have a much better understanding of what goes into it. It's astounding how just 20 minutes of work and $10 can make an iPod good as new -- but most people have no idea that there are instructions available to make the work easy. And why should they? Apple tells everyone that the battery isn't user-serviceable. That's where we come in, filling the ecosystem hole that Apple created by manufacturing a device without an end-of-life maintenance and disposal strategy.

View Statistics:

Today: 9

This Week: 155

This Month: 626

All Time: 152,145