修复地球

电子废料是数字时代的有毒产物。

电子废料的问题 ¶ 

Block Image

什么是电子废料? ¶ 

许多人不知道电子产品中含有各种令人讨厌的化学物质。例如,典型 CRT 中的玻璃中含有约10磅的铅。大多数平板显示器含有大量的汞。塑料外壳上涂有防火化学品多溴化阻燃剂,这些化学品是一些最恶劣的化学物质。你不能把这些化学品扔进垃圾填埋场,因为它们会污染土壤并渗入水源。

如何处理电子废料? ¶ 

要正确回收电子元件,必须仔细拆卸并分离出每种类型的材料。然后可以安全地使用原材料来制造新产品。遗憾的是,这并不像你想象的那样经常发生。我们认为“回收”的许多电子产品都被运往第三世界国家。

为什么?事实证明,正确回收电子废料的成本很高。因为这个过程是劳动密集型的,而且(至少在美国)环境法要求电子回收商使用环保工艺。

Block Image

From UNEP/GRID-Arendal

但是在发展中国家的劳动力很便宜。那些讨厌的环境法律根本都不存在。装满过时电子产品的集装箱经常被运往中国和尼日利亚等地,在那里人们从“死去”的电子设备寻找有用的配件。在清道夫挑选出有价值的东西之后,‘提取器’ 开始破坏电子设备。它们把铜和金从电线接口中提取出来。但是,如果没有环保工艺,提取过程中令人讨厌的化学物质会渗入地下水,残留的破碎电子废料会被抛弃在地面。

联合国环境计划解释了这一过程:“在许多国家,包括儿童在内的整个社区通过提取旧电脑中金属、玻璃和塑料来维持生计。为了提取少量的金子,电容器在木炭火上熔化;电线上的塑料在桶中燃烧,露出铜线。根据巴塞尔行动网报道,从每台计算机可以获得价值约6美元的材料。但当你燃烧塑料会将二恶英和其它有毒气体排放到空气中,虽然并不是很多。并且大量无用的配件被倾倒在附近,使剩余的重金属污染该区域“。

如何拯救地球 ¶ 

尽量延长设备寿命 ¶ 

Block Image

维护和修理设备可显著提高其使用寿命。如果我们一起工作并将平均电子元件的使用时间加倍,我们就可以“减少”产生的电子废料。如果我们照顾自己的设备并在它们破坏时修复它们,我们可以做得更好。

你有责任延长设备使用寿命并处理它们。负责任很容易:将你不再需要的东西出售或捐赠给可以重复使用的人。修理你仍然可以使用的东西,并在没有用处时回收它。

加入保护大军 ¶ 

你可以执行以下两项快速操作:

  • 遵循我们的维修承诺并承诺维修你的东西,而不是扔掉。
  • 了解有关电子废料问题的更多信息,然后与当地小组讨论如何解决问题。

这个星球上的资源数量有限。重要的是我们要有效地利用我们拥有的东西并为子孙后代保护资源。 东西的故事 是一个引人注目的20分钟动画视频,描述了我们当前的生产和消费模式是如何不可持续的。

特别感谢这些译者︰

100%

Yuting Zhao正在帮助我们修复这个世界! 想要作出贡献?
开始翻译 ›

浏览统计数据:

过去的24小时: 5

过去的7天: 32

过去的30天: 176

总计 181,378

Fix the planet

The problem with e-waste ¶ 

Block Image

What is e-waste? ¶ 

Many people don't know that electronics have all kinds of nasty chemicals in them. For example, the glass in a typical CRT has about ten pounds of lead in it. Most flat panel displays contain significant amounts of mercury. Plastic cases come coated with fire-resistant chemicals called poly-brominated flame retardants, some of the nastiest chemicals around. You can't just throw those kind of chemicals into a landfill because they contaminate soils and leach into the water supply.

What happens to e-waste? ¶ 

To recycle electronics properly, you must carefully disassemble them and separate out each type of material. The raw materials can then be safely used to make new products. Unfortunately, that doesn't happen as often as you'd think. Many of the electronics that we think are "recycled" are simply shipped to the third world.

Why? It turns out that it's expensive to recycle e-waste properly. It's expensive because the process is labor-intensive, and it's expensive because (in the US, at least) environmental laws require e-recyclers to use environmentally friendly processes.

Block Image

From UNEP/GRID-Arendal Maps and Graphics Library

But labor is cheap in the developing world. And those pesky environmental laws don't exist everywhere. Containers full of outdated electronics are regularly shipped to places like China and Nigera where people scrounge through the dead electronics looking for bits and pieces that are useful. After scavengers pick out the worthwhile bits, 'extractors' start breaking things apart. They can make a living breaking down electronics harvesting copper from wires and gold from electrical connectors. But without environmentally friendly processes, the nasty chemicals from the extraction process seeps into the groundwater and remnant broken electronic scrap litter the landscape.

The United Nations Environmental program explains this process: "In many countries entire communities, including children, earn their livelihoods by scavenging metals, glass and plastic from old computers. To extract the small quantity of gold, capacitors are melted down over a charcoal fire. The plastic on the electrical cords is burnt in barrels to expose the copper wires. According to the Basel Action Network, all in all each computer yields about US $6 worth of material. Not very much when you consider that burning the plastic sends dioxin and other toxic gases into the air. And the large volume of worthless parts are dumped nearby, allowing the remaining heavy metals to contaminate the area."

How you can save the planet ¶ 

Use devices as long as possible ¶ 

Block Image

Maintaining and repairing devices dramatically improves their usable lifespan. If we worked together and doubled the length of time the average piece of electronics was used, we could halve the amount of e-waste created. If we take care of our devices and fix them when they break, we can do a lot better than that.

You have a responsibility to humanity to keep things working as long as possible and to dispose of them properly. Being responsible is easy: Sell or donate stuff you no longer need to people who can reuse it. Repair things you can still use, and recycle it when there's no use left.

Join the crusade ¶ 

BAN is one of the few organizations in the world focused on confronting the global environmental injustice and economic inefficiency of toxic trade. They work to shed light on the devastating impacts of toxic waste, products and technologies in third world countries. All of us here at iFixit are proud to support the work that BAN is doing.

There is a finite quantity of resources on this planet. It's important we make efficient use of what we have and preserve resources for future generations. The story of stuff is a compelling 20-minute animated video that describes how our current production and consumption patterns are unsustainable.

View Statistics:

Today: 36

This Week: 422

This Month: 1,410

All Time: 149,050