Aller au contenu principal

Sécurité incendie

Si votre appareil est très chaud ou dégage une odeur épouvantable, n'essayez pas de retirer la batterie. Si votre appareil émet de la fumée, dégagez la zone autour de ce dernier.

Si vous ne pouvez pas bouger votre appareil, vous pouvez étouffer le feu avec du sable, un extincteur incendie certifié ou le couvrir avec un conteneur ignifuge et vous éloigner. N'utilisez en aucun cas de l'eau car le lithium peut interagir avec l'eau et causer un incendie. Si vous pouvez bouger l'appareil en toute sécurité, mettez-le dans un endroit ignifuge et bien aéré comme une zone avec un sol en béton—puis tenez-vous à l'écart jusqu'à ce que la batterie soit froide. Une fois qu'une batterie a pris feu, la réaction continue jusqu'à épuisement du combustible.

AVERTISSEMENT

UNE BATTERIE LITHIUM-ION GONFLÉE PEUT PRENDRE FEU OU EXPLOSER. PROCÉDEZ AVEC BEAUCOUP DE PRÉCAUTION ET À VOS PROPRES RISQUES EN RETIRANT UNE BATTERIE GONFLÉE D'UN APPAREIL ÉLECTRONIQUE. SI VOUS AVEZ DES DOUTES SUR VOTRE CAPACITÉ À LE FAIRE EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ, ÉTEIGNEZ ET ISOLEZ L'APPAREIL, PUIS CONSULTEZ IMMÉDIATEMENT UN RÉPARATEUR PROFESSIONNEL.

Retirer une batterie gonflée peut être dangereux mais la laisser à l'intérieur de l'appareil peut également comporter des risques. Pour éviter des dommages potentiels à l'appareil et des lésions corporelles, un appareil avec une batterie gonflée ne doit pas être utilisé. Ces instructions proposent les meilleures pratiques pour retirer les batteries gonflées mais ne peuvent garantir une réparation en toute sécurité. Si vous avez des doutes, éteignez l'appareil, mettez-le dans un conteneur ignifuge, puis consultez un réparateur professionnel et demandez-lui de retirer la batterie défectueuse. Ne repoussez pas le retrait d'une batterie. Si votre batterie gonflée a été achetée chez iFixit, prenez des photos de la batterie avant et après l’avoir retirée, puis contactez notre service client pour une réclamation sous garantie ou un échange.

Que se passe-t-il quand une batterie gonfle ?

Les batteries lithium-ion utilisent une réaction chimique pour générer de l'énergie. Quand la batterie vieillit, ces réactions chimiques ne s'exécutent plus parfaitement, ce qui peut causer la création de gaz (ou dégazage) et donc entraîner le gonflement de la batterie. De plus, si les couches de produits chimiques de la batterie n'ont pas l'écart approprié (à cause d’un dommage ou d’un défaut), un dégazage, un gonflement et même un incendie peuvent se produire. Le gonflement résulte du fait que des particules se retrouvent piégées entre les couches de la batterie et éventuellement de la perforation des membranes qui séparent les couches. Si le revêtement a été abîmé, l’humidité de l’air peut réagir avec la cellule et en provoquer le gonflement. Cette réaction explosive a tristement affecté le Samsung Galaxy Note7 et les hoverboards, ce qui a entraîné des restrictions sévères sur la livraison des batteries et leur transport par avion.

Comment identifier une batterie gonflée

Inspecter l’appareil

Block Image

Quand les batteries gonflent, elles enflent et poussent les autres composants. Souvent l’écran, les boutons ou le trackpad sont poussés hors de leur emplacement normal. Votre batterie peut être gonflée si la coque du téléphone ne se met plus en place comme avant, s’il y a un écart entre les composants, si les boutons deviennent rigides et difficiles à actionner ou si votre appareil donne plus de „mou“ que d’habitude.

Identifier par l’odeur

Pratiquez des tests de reniflage sécurisés ! Ne collez jamais de substance dangereuse près de votre visage et n'inspirez pas profondément, inspectez plutôt la zone près de votre batterie. Vous remarquerez peut-être une odeur chimique métallique doucereuse qui pourrait être du gaz s'échappant de la batterie gonflée.

Inspecter la batterie

Block Image

Image Credit: George Christidis

Si votre appareil s’ouvre facilement sans gêner la batterie, comme surun Macbook ou un iPhone (consultez le tutoriel de remplacement de la batterie pour sa voir !), vous pouvez l'ouvrir et inspecter visuellement le gonflement de la batterie. Si la batterie a un revêtement lâche ou froissé, si elle est plus arrondie que carrée ou semble sortir de son logement, elle est gonflée.

Comment retirer une batterie gonflée en toute sécurité

Avant de commencer

Si vous soupçonnez que votre batterie a gonflé, ne chargez pas votre appareil. Déchargez la batterie aussi bas que possible—ceci réduit le risque d’incendie.

Se protéger

Travaillez dans un endroit bien aéré pour diffuser les fumées. Portez des lunettes de protections—idéalement des lunettes de protection complète mais des lunettes de sécurité sont mieux que rien. Portez des gants pour éviter que votre peau soit en contact avec la batterie. Ayez une paire de longues pincettes émoussées à portée de main pour pouvoir déplacer en toute sécurité une batterie endommagée.

Préparer l'environnement de travail

Block Image

Au cas où la batterie commence à s’enflammer ou à laisser s'échapper des substances, vous avez besoin d’un endroit sûr pour la stocker. Travaillez sur une surface ignifuge et à l’extérieur s’il fait frais et sec. Préparez un conteneur ignifuge, telle qu’une boîte en métal scellée, un seau en métal rempli de sable ou équivalent. N’utilisez en aucun cas de l’eau car le lithium va réagir avec l’eau et causer un incendie. Si vous travaillez à l’intérieur, veillez à avoir une sortie de secours dégagée vers l’extérieur, où la réaction de la batterie peut continuer en toute sécurité.

Retirer la batterie

Une fois que les précautions précédentes ont été prises, vous pouvez commencer à retirer la batterie. Pour la plupart, vous pouvez suivre le tutoriel de remplacement de la batterie de votre appareil mais des précautions supplémentaires doivent être prises pour éviter d’endommager la batterie lors de son retrait. Si la batterie est collée, nous vous conseillons de commencer avec du dissolvant comme le dissolvant pour adhésif iFixit, de l’alcool isopropylique à forte concentration ou de l’acétone. Le dissolvant minimisera le besoin de faire levier ou de plier la batterie. Gardez à l’esprit que l’acétone peut endommager les composants en plastique et que tous les dissolvants doivent être utilisés avec modération—ils sont inflammables. Utilisez uniquement des outils en plastique et évitez tout objet tranchant qui peut perforer le revêtement de la batterie—perforer la batterie peut causer un incendie dangereux. Si à tout moment, l’odeur devient plus forte, l’appareil chauffe ou de la fumée apparaît, mettez l’appareil à l’extérieur ou dans un conteneur ignifuge et attendez que les symptômes se dissipent avant de recommencer.

Comment jeter une batterie gonflée

Une fois que vous avez retiré la batterie, vous devriez la jeter en toute sécurité. Ne jetez pas les batteries à la poubelle ou dans les bacs de recyclage. Ne mettez/déposez pas la batterie dans l’eau. Si la batterie est chaude, sent mauvais ou fume, mettez-la à l’extérieur loin de tout matériau inflammable ou dans un conteneur ignifuge et attendez que les symptômes se dissipent. Une fois qu'elle ne présente plus de danger imminent, emmenez la batterie dans un site de collecte de déchets électroniques local ; se référer à notre e-waste page pour en trouver un dans votre entourage. N'envoyez jamais la batterie à un organisme de traitement des déchets électroniques par la poste—il existe des réglementations strictes à cet égard, car la batterie pourrait causer des dommages lors du transport.

Comment prendre soin de votre batterie

Les batteries sont des pièces consommables, peu importe comment vous prenez soin de vos batteries, elles devront probablement être remplacées. Ceci dit, vous trouverez ci-dessous des meilleures pratiques pour garder votre batterie en bonne santé aussi longtemps que possible. Mais il est important de noter que nous ne pouvez pas récupérer une batterie gonflée ou défectueuse ; vous pouvez seulement la retirer. Ces conseils ne peuvent que contribuer à prévenir la dégradation de la batterie.

Les batteries fonctionnent mieux si on les charge et décharge lentement et sous contrôle, si on les utilise à des températures modérées et si on les protège contre les chocs et les dommages. Une charge et décharge rapides peuvent user prématurément la batterie et empêcher la réaction chimique de se terminer correctement, entraînant un dégazage. Laisser un appareil branché le force à se décharger et charger plusieurs fois en une heure, ce qui peut dégrader la batterie. Utiliser un câble de charge ou un adapteur non certifié risque des charges incontrôlées, irrégulières ou excessives. Cela peut causer des dommages ou même provoquer un incendie. Des températures élevées peuvent également réduire l’efficacité de la batterie, alors ne laissez pas votre téléphone dans une voiture quand il fait chaud. Et le plus important, faire tomber votre téléphone endommage non seulement votre écran mais aussi votre batterie. Tout comme les voitures, les téléphones sont supposés se plier lors d’un accident, de sorte que même une batterie collée peut se cogner contre les composants à proximité en cas de chute, entraînant une perforation. Remplacez votre batterie si elle est endommagée ou ne tient plus la charge longtemps. Tl;dr: Soyez gentil(le) avec votre batterie. Utilisez-la avec précaution et remplacez-la si elle est endommagée ou ne tient plus correctement la charge.

Merci à ces traducteurs :

100%

Ces traducteurs nous aident réparer le monde ! Vous voulez contribuer ?
Commencez à traduire ›

Leaving your device plugged in forces it to drain and charge many times an hour, which can degrade the battery - this is rubbish. If the device is plugged in the battery will usually end up fully charged - which is not ideal as about 40% charge is best for battery longevity - but it won’t drain and charge continually. Instead, once the battery is fully charged it is essentially removed from the circuit and the charger powers the device.

Using a non-certified charging cable or adapter risks uncontrolled, uneven, or excessive charging that can cause damage or even result in fire - this is not quite true. All devices contain a charge controller that prevents overcharging regardless of the charger used. However, cheap chargers may subject you to the risk of electrocution, may produce ‘noisy’ DC that reduces the performance of the touchscreen, or may themselves catch fire. A damaged charger cable can also overheat and cause a fire.

Andrew - Réponse

Do not use water under any circumstances as the lithium could react with the water and cause a fire - this is misleading. While it’s true that lithium ignites on contact with water, there is actually very little elemental lithium in typical lithium-ion batteries and a sufficient quantity of water can put out the fire that water started.

For example, on board commercial aircraft if a passenger’s phone catches fire (which happens frequently when a phone falls down the back of a seat and the passenger adjusts the seat angle to get at the phone but in the process squashes it, puncturing the battery), the standard procedure is to use bottled water or soft drink to extinguish the fire.

Andrew - Réponse

Thank you Andrew for commenting on the use of water to extinguish a Li ion battery. You are 100% correct. In fact, there is a lot of test data that has been produced by NFPA that shows water is the most effective (and safe) way to suppress a Li ion battery fire. Water also immediately cools down any adjacent cells to prevent propagation.

The heading that states “All Batteries are Hazardous Waste” is also wrong.

This website should be corrected ASAP.

George - Réponse

Ajouter un commentaire

Voir les statistiques:

Dernières 24 heures : 432

7 derniers jours : 2,612

30 derniers jours : 12,017

Total : 49,217

Fire safety ¶ 

If your device feels extremely hot, or smells awful, do not attempt to remove the battery. If your device is actively emitting smoke, clear the area around it. ¶ 

If you cannot move the device, you can smother the fire with sand, an approved fire extinguisher, or cover it with a fireproof container, and then stand clear. Do not use water under any circumstances as the lithium could react with the water and cause a fire. If you can safely move the device, put it in a fire-safe or well-ventilated area such as one with a concrete floor—and then stand clear until the battery is cool. Once a battery catches fire, the reaction will continue until the fuel is exhausted.

WARNING ¶ 

A SWOLLEN LITHIUM-ION BATTERY MAY CATCH FIRE OR EXPLODE. PROCEED WITH EXTREME CAUTION AND AT YOUR OWN RISK WHEN REMOVING A SWOLLEN BATTERY FROM AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE. IF YOU HAVE ANY DOUBTS ABOUT YOUR ABILITY TO DO SO SAFELY, POWER DOWN AND ISOLATE THE DEVICE, AND CONSULT A PROFESSIONAL REPAIR TECHNICIAN IMMEDIATELY.

Removing a swollen battery can be hazardous, but leaving a swollen battery inside a device also poses risks. To prevent potential device and bodily harm, a device should not operate with a swollen battery. These guidelines offer best practices for removing swollen batteries, but cannot guarantee a safe repair. If you have doubts, power the device down, place it in a fireproof container, take to a repair professional and ask them to remove the faulty battery. Do not delay battery removal. If your swollen battery was purchased from iFixit, take photos of the battery before and after removing it, then contact our customer service team for warranty claims or replacement.

What happens when a battery gets swollen? ¶ 

Lithium-ion batteries use a chemical reaction to generate power. As the battery ages, this chemical reaction no longer completes perfectly, which can result in the creation of gas (called outgassing), leading to a swollen battery. Additionally, if the battery’s layers of chemicals do not maintain proper separation (due to damage or defect), outgassing, swelling, and even fire can occur. Swelling is the result of particulates getting caught in between the layers of the battery and eventually puncturing the membrane that separate the layers. If the membrane has been compromised, moisture in the air can react with the cell causing the cell to swell. This explosive reaction has infamously affected the Samsung Galaxy Note7 and hoverboards, resulting in the strict limitations placed on shipping batteries, as well as carrying them on airplanes.

How to identify a swollen battery ¶ 

Inspect the device ¶ 

Block Image

As batteries swell, they expand and push other components out of the way. Oftentimes a display, button, or trackpad will be pushed out of normal alignment. You may have a swollen battery if your phone case doesn’t fit as well as it used to, or there’s a new gap between components, or buttons have become stiff or hard to push, or your device has more give than usual and feels “squishy.”

Identify by smell ¶ 

Practice safe sniff testing! Never stick a dangerous substance near your face and inhale deeply—rather, waft the area near your battery. You may notice a sweet, metallic chemical smell which could be battery gas escaping a swollen battery.

Inspect the battery ¶ 

Block Image

Image Credit: George Christidis

If your device is easy to open without disturbing the battery (check the battery replacement guide to see!), like a MacBook or iPhone, you can open the device and visually inspect the battery for puffiness. If the battery has a loose or wrinkly wrapping, is more rounded than square, or appears lifted out of its recess, it is swollen.

How to safely remove a swollen battery ¶ 

Before you begin ¶ 

If you suspect your battery is swollen, do not charge your device. Run the battery down as low as you can—this reduces the risk of fire.

Protect yourself ¶ 

Work in a well-ventilated area to help diffuse fumes. Wear eye protection—ideally full goggles, but safety glasses are better than nothing. Wear gloves to prevent skin contact with battery chemicals. Have a pair of long, blunt tongs available to help safely move a damaged battery.

Prepare your environment ¶ 

Block Image

In the event that the battery does begin to combust or leak, you need to have a safe place to store it. Work on a non-flammable surface and outside if it’s cool and dry. Prepare a fireproof container, such as a sealed metal can, metal bucket of sand, or equivalent. Do not use water under any circumstances as the lithium will react with water and cause a fire. If you work indoors, have a clear path to a place outside where the battery reaction may safely run itself out.

Remove the battery ¶ 

Once the above precautions have been taken, you can start removing the battery. For the most part, you can follow your device’s battery replacement guide, but extra care should be taken to avoid damaging the battery during removal. If the battery is glued in place, we recommend starting with a solvent like iFixit’s adhesive remover, high-concentration isopropyl alcohol, or acetone. The solvent will minimize the need to pry against or flex the battery. Keep in mind that acetone may cause damage to plastic parts, and all solvents should be used as sparingly as possible—they are flammable. Only use plastic tools, and avoid anything sharp enough to puncture the battery wrapping—puncturing the battery can lead to dangerous fires. If at any point the smell increases, the device begins to heat up, or any smoke appears, put the device outside, or in a fireproof container, and wait for the symptoms to dissipate before trying again.

How to dispose of a swollen battery ¶ 

Once the battery has been removed, it needs to be safely disposed of. Do not throw batteries into trash or recycling bins. Do not put/store the battery in water. If the battery is warm, smelly or smoking, put it outside away from flammable materials, or in a fireproof container, and wait for the symptoms to dissipate. When safe, take the battery to a local e-waste collection site; refer to our e-waste page to find one in your area. Do not mail the battery to an e-waste processing facility—there are strict regulations against this as the battery could cause damage in transit.

All batteries are hazardous waste ¶ 

Disposal of batteries requires special attention. In any condition, all batteries pose a fire and safety hazard and should be handled and disposed of properly. Batteries can not be placed in municipal waste collection, and must be taken to a hazardous waste collection facility. Find a hazardous waste collection facility through Earth911 or an internet search.

How to take care of your battery ¶ 

Batteries are consumable, and no matter how well you take care of them, they will eventually need to be replaced. That said, below are some best practices to keep your battery healthy as long as you can. But, it is important to note that you cannot heal a swollen or defective battery; you can only remove it. These hints can only help prevent battery degradation.

Batteries do best with slow, controlled charging and discharging, use in moderate temperatures, and protection from shocks or damage. Rapid charging and discharging can wear a battery out prematurely and prevent its chemical reaction from properly completing, resulting in outgassing. Leaving your device plugged in forces it to drain and charge many times an hour, which can degrade the battery. Using a non-certified charging cable or adapter risks uncontrolled, uneven, or excessive charging that can cause damage or even result in fire. High temperatures can also reduce battery efficiency, so try not to leave your phone in the car on a hot day. And most importantly, dropping your phone hurts your battery, too, not just your screen. Just like cars, phones are meant to flex during an accident, so even a glued-in battery can bump into nearby components when dropped, resulting in a puncture. Replace your battery if it’s damaged or no longer holds a proper charge. Tl;dr: be nice to your battery. Use it gently, and replace it if it becomes damaged or no longer holds a proper charge.

0 Comments

Add Comment

View Statistics:

Past 24 Hours: 32

Past 7 Days: 233

Past 30 Days: 929

All Time: 2,115