Introduction

When you try to do a Factory reset through the Android system recovery menu, you can't navigate normally. This is common problem with Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0. The light cursor is moved only if you press the Volume button twice - then it will move through two menus.

Where is the problem?

When you press Up or Down once, it does actually change the selection, but the system doesn't refresh the screen.

Here's the solution:


Video Overview

  1. Open the Android System Recovery menu. You can find the manual how to do this here. If your tablet is stuck on the Android robot with exclamation mark picture, press the Volume Up or Down button.
    • Open the Android System Recovery menu.

    • You can find the manual how to do this here.

    • If your tablet is stuck on the Android robot with exclamation mark picture, press the Volume Up or Down button.

    • Now, if the cursor is on "reboot system now", press the Volume Down key twice to go to "apply update from external storage", and just once to go to "wipe data...".

    • The cursor will stay on "apply update..." but the real selection will be "wipe data / factory reset".

    • Press the Power On button to select it. In the next menu you must choose "Yes - erase all user data".

    • Use the same technique to choose it. And finally, "reboot system now".

  2. Free shipping on all orders over $100 or containing a Pro Tech Toolkit!

    Browse Our Store
  3. If the cursor is on "Apply update from ADB", press the Volume Down key twice to go to "wipe data/factory reset" and choose it with the Power On button. On the next screen press press the Volume Down 3x to go steb before "Yes --delete all user data".
    • If the cursor is on "Apply update from ADB", press the Volume Down key twice to go to "wipe data/factory reset" and choose it with the Power On button.

    • On the next screen press press the Volume Down 3x to go steb before "Yes --delete all user data".

    • Press another one time the Volume down button. The cursor will not move, but actually you are on the "Yes -- delete all user data" and you can select it with the Power On button.

    • Did you do it successfully?

Conclusion

To reassemble your device, follow these instructions in reverse order.

32 other people completed this guide.

ZFix

Member since: 12/09/2013

163,044 Reputation

304 Guides authored

Team

Master Techs Member of Master Techs

Community

281 Members

792 Guides authored

11 Comments

When i factory reset through the Android system recovery menu, i can't navigate normally.

I fix it now,thank you very much!

AndroidDataRecovery - Reply

Fix all data. System

Macky Villanueva -

I can't do it it just does up with a different thing

irirangihammond - Reply

Wow I did not know this.ill try this way and thanks for the benifit

issammax147 - Reply

I got to the page where I gave to select yes but it jumps 2 spaces up and down and jumps past the yes option. How can I do it

Brittany - Reply

View Statistics:

Past 24 Hours: 8

Past 7 Days: 56

Past 30 Days: 244

All Time: 66,700