Skip to main content

Fix Your Stuff

Right to Repair

Store

Changes to Step #3

Edit by Arthur Shi

Edit approved by Arthur Shi

Before
After
Unchanged

Step Lines

[* red] Select your new hard drive from the left column in Disk Utility.
[*
icon_note] A warning window will pop upIf the new drive is not showing up, disconnect the enclosure and askcheck if you wishthe hard drive is properly connected to continue with the partition process.
[*
enclosure.
[* orange] Select the '''Erase''' option near the top row of buttons.
[*
black] Click "Partition" onSelect a name for your new drive, and select '''"Mac OS Extended (Journaled)"''' for the warning window that has popped upformat.
[* black] Whenicon_caution] '''Warning:''' Pressing the erase button will erase the entire contents of the drive. Make sure you are asked if you want to usehave selected the new drive to backup data with Time Machine, click "Don't Use" or "Cancel."hard drive!
[* black] AfterPress the drive has been partitioned and erased, quit Disk Utility'''erase''' button.
[* icon_note] This process may take up to 10 minutes, so be patient
.
[* black] The new hard drive should now appear on your computer’s desktopQuit Disk Utility once the erase is complete.
[* red] Select your new hard drive from the left column in Disk Utility.
[*
icon_note] A warning window will pop upIf the new drive is not showing up, disconnect the enclosure and askcheck if you wishthe hard drive is properly connected to continue with the partition process.
[*
enclosure.
[* orange] Select the '''Erase''' option near the top row of buttons.
[*
black] Click "Partition" onSelect a name for your new drive, and select '''"Mac OS Extended (Journaled)"''' for the warning window that has popped upformat.
[* black] Whenicon_caution] '''Warning:''' Pressing the erase button will erase the entire contents of the drive. Make sure you are asked if you want to usehave selected the new drive to backup data with Time Machine, click "Don't Use" or "Cancel."hard drive!
[* black] AfterPress the drive has been partitioned and erased, quit Disk Utility'''erase''' button.
[* icon_note] This process may take up to 10 minutes, so be patient
.
[* black] The new hard drive should now appear on your computer’s desktopQuit Disk Utility once the erase is complete.

Image 1

Old Version

New Version

Image 2

Old Version

New Version

Image 3

No previous image

Added