Model A1199 / 2, 4, or 8 GB capacity

96 Questions View all

Why is there a "do not disconnect" logo on my screen

We just bought a used iPod and there is no booklet with it. When I plugged it in to my computer via a USB connector there is now a sign blinking and saying "do not disconnect". Is there a problem???

Thanks

Answered! View the answer I have this problem too

Is this a good question?

Score 2

Comments:

i am using 7th ipod nano and it says okay to disconet but it just stays there i tried reseting it and puting it on disk mode not of this worked

by

Add a comment
Mac RAM Kits
Speed up your Mac. Max out its memory.
Mac RAM Kits
Get more memory out of your Mac.

4 Answers

Chosen Solution

it has a do not disconnect on it because your iPod is trying to talk to the computer. If you disconnect it without first removing it from the computers desktop you can corrupt both the iPod and the computer.

Go to : http://support.apple.com/manuals/#iPod and locate your iPod and download the manual.

Take care

Was this answer helpful?

Score 4
Add a comment
Most Helpful Answer

This is normal. There is not a problem. You simply have to go into your iTunes program and 'eject' the iPod. The eject icon is a triangle over a bar just to the right of where it lists your iPod on the left column in iTunes.

Roll your cursor over the triangle and press once. After just a couple of seconds, your iPod will be ready to disconnect and the "do not disconnect" logo will disappear.

Good luck,

Frank

Was this answer helpful?

Score 9
Add a comment

@debbie

Make sure you use iTunes, and connect your iPod.

Select your iPod in the navigation panel on the left, Devices section.

Now use the Music button in the top menu.

Select to synchronize only "Selected playlists".

Only the tracks used in the selected playlists will be synced to your iPod.

The other tracks in your music library will not appear on your device.

Was this answer helpful?

Score 3
Add a comment

toggle hold switch 5 times, then hold center button and menu button at same time for 10-20 seconds. Sounds crazy, but it worked for me!

Was this answer helpful?

Score 2

Comments:

Thank you for sharing this! It worked for me too! I didn't want to have to recover and reset it.

by

but this happens every time i connect it

by

Add a comment

Add your answer

Lee will be eternally grateful.
View Statistics:

Past 24 Hours: 13

Past 7 Days: 102

Past 30 Days: 502

All Time: 14,445